Dragonfly Yoga Socks

I know everyone can relate when I talk about how busy life can be.  If you’re like me, your brain has a difficult time shutting down when it’s time to sleep because of that.  The result is often the dreaded insomnia and the utter fatigue the following day.  I have an arsenal to tackle this issue: pre-bedtime yoga, essential oil diffuser, fictional reading, keeping a notebook next to the bed to brain dump…sometimes you just lose.  At least I lost the battle on a Saturday night.

So, last night I eventually found myself in bed giggling at reruns of The Grand Tour running on my IPad and wishing I was sound asleep.  I started thinking about what I need to accomplish the next day…the list (similar to most people) is never short.  One of my priorities including triathlon training, which meant a ride or at a minimum a yoga practice to destress.  -SIDE NOTE, if you find yourself stressed I encourage you to discover whatever it is that you can turn to (hopefully some form of exercise whether it’s yoga, running, lifting, kick boxing, competitive team sports, etc. and if it changes based on your mood, more power to you! always helpful to have additional ways to destress)- Anywho, that got me thinking that my feet have been so cold during my yoga practices.  I like to practice in our 4 season; it faces east and I can watch the sun come up…it’s absolutely lovely! but it’s also on a concrete slab which means it’s cold.  I thought “what the hell, lets make some yoga socks!”.

Next big question, what stitch do I want to use?  Am I feeling ambitious (knitting) or simple and quick (crochet)?  Duh, it’s late and I need something to occupy my mind rather than think about serious stuff.  Thank goodness for a yarn stash!  I found some soft worsted weight yarn (Caron Simply Soft) in black since most of my yoga clothes have black on them.  Grabbed an “H” hook and dove in.  I really wanted to use the dragonfly stitch since it represents change, transformation, adaptability and self-realization.  During a practice, I often look to let go of the things I cannot change, transform and grow in my practice through self-realization.  Basically, be in tune with yourself.  I digress….

This pattern is adjustable for your size.  When designing it, I literally chained and wrapped it around the my foot (just behind the ball) and when I could comfortably wrap without being too tight, I joined in the round.  After working through a medley of dragonfly stitch and double crochets, I continued along as far as I needed to reach the front of the ball of my heel before completing my chains to open the heel (when you read the pattern it will make sense).  Finally, because I didn’t want knee high socks I made these more as a “crew” cuff.  If you want to go higher go for it!  I did crochet through the back loop for a little extra stretch and hint of a rib.

So, below you will find a fun and very easy yoga sock pattern.  I think this would take most about an hour to work up, they are very quick.  The second one only took me about 30 minutes and that was with a cat in my lap 🙂

If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to ask!  I’m new to pattern design and just like to share what I have going on.  I know there are a lot of yogis out there with chilly feet, especially if you’re still grinding through winter.

Dragonfly Yoga Socks

Fotor_155043338738369.jpg

You may sell items made from this pattern, but please credit me as the original designer.  Also, please do not share the written pattern in print or electronically.  The photos belong to Rebecca Podgorski, and may not be used for product sales/product listings.

If you have any questions, please comment below. I may also be contacted on Ravelry: Username: rdpodgorski / Email: rdpodgorski@hotmail.com 

10 thoughts on “Dragonfly Yoga Socks

  1. I just made a pair of these yesterday to try out the pattern and they are fantastic! Now I’m making a second pair for someone else.
    Thank you so much for being generous and sharing this pattern. I promise to pay it forward.
    Namaste 🌼

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m finding that by row 5 I have 36 stitches instead of 32….. and I have no idea how……. I”m not increasing………..

    Like

  3. Can anyone please explain this to me. I understand how to crochet and all but am very confused with how to do this and can’t find anything on any videos. Please help

    R1: Ch 3, PM on post (around the 3 chains), dc 5, ch1, sk 1 st, dc 6st, PM on post, dc remaining st, sl st to top of ch 3.

    Like

    1. You will place a marker (I used one that looks like a safety pin) around the ch3 stitches, then make a DC in the next 5st, ch1, DC in next 6st, place another marker around the last dc post, make a DC in the remaining st, slip st to top ch of the ch 3 (that has the 1st marker).
      Does that help?

      Like

      1. Hi – I found this pattern when lookong for something to make for my yoga teacher, as a small thank you. I’m not clear on something, though: In rows 2 and 3, the pattern says “…sk 3 st, dc 3 st, dc remaining st…” and “sk 4 chains and 1 st, dc 2, dc remaining…”, respectively. Does that mean dc 3 (row 2) and 2 (row 3) in the next stitch, to increase the number of stitches in the row? If not, why not just say ‘dc in remaining…’?

        Thanks,

        Sydney

        Like

      2. Hi Sydney, there are no increases. So, yes you are correct in that you could dc in each stitch. The reason I wrote it that way is because I used stitch markers to separate the dragonfly pattern from the rest of the sock. I hope that helps!

        Like

  4. What a beautiful soul you are to share this pattern for free!!

    I’m going to pay it forward with some acts of kindness in my town 🙂

    I’ve already made two pairs and I’m working on a third.

    The instructions are perfect, thank you very much and namaste!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment